When Support and Mental Health Join Forces

I’ve dealt with having anxiety for some time now. While different things help different people, I think there’s one thing that everyone who struggles with anxiety can agree on – support is beneficial.

Now when I say support, I don’t necessarily mean the holding of hands and sharing of similar stories. Let’s face it, while a great deal of people suffer from anxiety, there are many, if not more, non-sufferers as well. So what do I mean?

Sometimes the best form of support comes from simply being there for the individual going through a rough time. Sometimes simply listening to the individual can make them feel less alone in the world. You don’t have to have gone through the same or even a similar experience to be helpful.

Through blogging, I’ve met some wonderful individuals who have become good friends. Some of them have experienced anxiety and panic attacks like myself while others haven’t. However, what do they all have in common? All of my friends listen and remind me that they are here for me. Even if I never meet these friends in person, I feel like a great deal of them have my back and care a great deal for me.

I also have my family. To tell you the truth, some of my family members aren’t very patient or understanding. Don’t get me wrong, I love then and I know they love me, but when it comes to patience, it’s not always there. On the other hand, I have some family members (especially one), who are always there for me, supporting me and trying the best they can to offer a helping hand. Do they truly understand what I go through? Maybe not, but that doesn’t mean they don’t try their hardest to help.

That’s the thing. Just because you might not fully comprehend what someone goes through or why they go through it, doesn’t mean that you can’t provide them with support. You don’t have to struggle with the same issue as someone else to be willing to give kindness, give love. If you’re unsure how you can help, just ask. Everyone has the ability to help others, they just have to have an open heart.

Author: gettingthroughanxiety

B.W. Ginsburg has enjoyed reading and writing for as long as she can remember. Her favorite authors include: Harlan Coben, James Patterson, and John Saul. B.W. Ginsburg published her first book, Rest in Piece, in October 2016. In addition to writing fiction, Ginsburg also writes about mental health. In her spare time, she can be found blogging, watching TV, and listening to music. B.W. Ginsburg graduated college with a B.A. in Arts; she majored in English and minored in writing.

1 thought on “When Support and Mental Health Join Forces”

Leave a Reply

