Just Leave Them Alone!

I understand that we all have different beliefs. I understand that our religions often govern how we feel about certain issues. I have nothing wrong with us all having different views. What I do have an issue with is when we treat innocent people like criminals just because they are of a different race or sexual orientation.

Today I want to talk about sexual orientation and how, in my opinion, it’s none of our concern whether someone is heterosexual, homosexual, bisexual, etc. Whether or not we believe it’s ‘right’ shouldn’t really matter. It’s not our place to judge and quite frankly, whether or not someone’s straight or not doesn’t effect us.

I believe in gay rights. I don’t think it matters if two women or two men get married. In fact, I think that if they are in love, they should be able to get married and have the same exact rights as heterosexual couples. However, I know that not everyone believes this. Fine. However, whether you believe that same-sex relationships are right or wrong, I still think that you should respect people of all sexual orientations. Period.

I’ve told this story before, but some of my relatives and I went to a concert once. There was a lesbian couple sitting nearby and later on that night, all my relative did was go on and on about how wrong their lifestyle was. This got me very upset. I didn’t understand (and still don’t) why my relative felt so compelled to judge two individuals that she didn’t even know and there she was, trying to spread her hatred. Just hearing her talk about these two people that she’d never even spoken to made me feel sick to my stomach.

If you think gay marriage is wrong, fine. If you think being homosexual or bisexual is a sin, fine. Still, it is not okay to disrespect someone because of their sexual orientation. Just because someone isn’t heterosexual doesn’t mean that they are any less human or deserve any less kindness. Please stop judging and condemning! Please stop spreading your hatred and thinking that you know someone based on what you ‘think’ about them. Get to know someone for who they are and not for their sexual orientation or race!

For the record, just because someone might be gay does not mean that they have ruined the sanctity of a heterosexual relationship or marriage. Just because someone is gay does not mean that they’ve done something wrong or harmed you in any way! Seriously!

Author: gettingthroughanxiety

B.W. Ginsburg has enjoyed reading and writing for as long as she can remember. Her favorite authors include: Harlan Coben, James Patterson, and John Saul. B.W. Ginsburg published her first book, Rest in Piece, in October 2016. In addition to writing fiction, Ginsburg also writes about mental health. In her spare time, she can be found blogging, watching TV, and listening to music. B.W. Ginsburg graduated college with a B.A. in Arts; she majored in English and minored in writing.

7 thoughts on “Just Leave Them Alone!”

  1. *Fist bump* I completely agree. I had a family member complain because I asked my husband’s cousin who is a lesbian to read a passage from the Bible at our wedding. I told her that if she didn’t like it, she didn’t have to come! I don’t understand why people are so against anything, especially Christians! I get that in some passages people see that identifying as homosexuality is a sin, however; Jesus loved EVERYONE!!! It does not say Jesus loved everyone except…. So I am a follower of Christ, but I think I am more open minded than most of my fellow Christians, and it bugs the crap out of me! One of my favorite quotes is “Don’t judge somebody because they sin differently than you.” The Bible also says “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.” I think people just need to mind their own frickin’ business, but the world would be a much better place if everyone just accepted that we all have different values, outlooks, and opinions, and that’s OKAY… there is no need to get violent or hasty just because someone doesn’t agree, think, believe, act, etc… the same way we do. The world would be a boring place if we were all alike!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! Some people just take the relationships and lifestyles of others so personally! It’s not like homosexuals are hurting anyone! I’m Catholic but like you I believe that God loves everyone, I don’t think He’d say, “Oh I don’t love him or her because he or she isn’t heterosexual!”. I just can’t understand why people are so cruel! Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

