True Friends

Disclaimer: I’m not perfect. I’m sure there have been times when I’ve been less than kind or not the perfect friend. I do try my hardest though to be kind, loyal, and caring.

While I’ve never been ‘popular’, I’ve always had friends. I’ve experienced friendships that were both genuine and false.

My first real friendship lasted about ten years. While it wasn’t perfect, I thought of my best friend as a sister. We’d celebrate each others birthdays, go to each others houses, have sleepovers, and talk about different things. While there were times when we fought or didn’t get along, I always felt like she had my back, like I could trust her. However, sadly, our friendship started to fade when I went to middle school and she started getting home-schooled. She moved soon after and slowly we stopped talking. I did meet her again later on in college, but the friendship didn’t last.

When I went to middle school, I met new friends. I thought I had chosen wisely, but really, I hadn’t. While I met three wonderful individuals who made the two years of middle school enjoyable, there were also two of my so called ‘friends’ that would highly disappoint me.

I’ve mentioned one of the incidents before, but there were more. Not only did I stop one of my ‘friends’ from stealing, but I also noticed some other behavior that I didn’t approve of. Now maybe they were just childish pranks, but now that I’m older, I see just how wrong they were. For example, one time the two girls decided to prank call a suicide hotline. I never really liked the whole ordeal, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t do much to stop it either. I should have. Especially now that I suffer from a mental health issue and know many people who struggle from depression, I know that the idea of suicide is nothing to joke about. In the end, I learned the those two girls weren’t my real friends. In fact, they would later go to spread rumors about me and cause a boatload of drama. These girls would also later prank call my house for years. As you can see, they were very mature! Yes, that was sarcasm!

Let’s go back to the three people who I did consider very good friends in middle school. The first of these friends was someone that I liked instantly. She was kind and I could tell that she’d make a wonderful friend. I was right. She later went on to high school and then things changed, but while we were in school together, she was an amazing friend. Also, I met two sweet guys (one who I had a major crush on!). They both respected me a great deal. I never felt unsafe around them or as if they were doing something wrong. They were friends.

Moving on to high school, I met a lot of wonderful people there. While there were a couple of ‘bad eggs’, there were also tons of individuals who were always there for me. My anxiety really began to rise in high school and some of my friends were clearly there for me. Though some of them strayed away, others stayed by my side. I also had my first boyfriends and relationships in high school. While they didn’t last very long, one of the individuals stayed my friend until the end of the four years. Throughout high school, there was really one one or two people whose friendship wasn’t genuine. Overall, I really did meet some great people.

I also met some people in college who became good friends. Once again, I would learn who I could trust and depend on and who I couldn’t.

Not only have I made friends in school, but I’ve also made friends with people in my neighborhood and now, online. I’ve had my fair share of both good and bad friends, and have learned a lot. One thing I’ve learned is to trust your instincts. If you begin sensing that something’s not right, you’re probably correct. If you see your ‘friends’ doing things that you don’t agree with, walk away! No one’s perfect, but if they’re doing something that makes your skin crawl, they’re obviously not the type of people you should be hanging out with.

You’ll meet a lot of people in your life. Some people will come and go quickly and some are there for the long hull. Whatever you do, don’t compromise yourself for others. Please remember that having a lot of friends isn’t important, but rather having the right friends. You want friends who will be there for you, support you, and respect you. Please don’t be blinded by popularity. What’s the point of being popular if you can’t honestly say that your friends care about you or are kind?

Thank you to all of my friends who love, care for, and support me!

 

 

 

Author: gettingthroughanxiety

B.W. Ginsburg has enjoyed reading and writing for as long as she can remember. Her favorite authors include: Harlan Coben, James Patterson, and John Saul. B.W. Ginsburg published her first book, Rest in Piece, in October 2016. In addition to writing fiction, Ginsburg also writes about mental health. In her spare time, she can be found blogging, watching TV, and listening to music. B.W. Ginsburg graduated college with a B.A. in Arts; she majored in English and minored in writing.

5 thoughts on “True Friends”

  1. Great advice. The older I get the more I appreciate the true friendships I have. I have weeded out a lot of people in my life, who were not who I thought they were. I now have less drama & am much happier! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

