Rae’s Rules to Remember #10: Consent is Given, Not Taken

This video of Amber Rose talking to Tyrese and Rev Run keeps popping up so if you haven’t already seen it, you can check it out below.

There is NO WAY that you can watch that video and claim that rape culture does not exist. This is exactly what’s wrong with society (one of the many things really). The fact that anyone could believe that they have the right to someone else’s body, because they like the way it looks is ridiculous. Yes, I know that it’s not all men and sadly, sometimes it is women too. It really sickens me that people continue to think this way and that celebrities perpetuate this behavior.

In the video, Tyrese tries the say that a man’s “need” to grope a woman stems from a “signal” between the man and the woman…that is absolute bullshit and is really just trying to make the excuse that men can’t control themselves. I repeat…BULLSHIT! You’re an adult, you are responsible for your actions.

And for Rev Run to say “dress how you want to be addressed” that’s also bullshit. I think that men are attractive in suits, but does that men that I can just walk up to them and rip of their suit? NO. Why? Well, because I’m a good person and not a freaking monster. I respect other people’s personal space and I’m not an idiot. The courtesy of respecting a person (and their body) should be extended to the woman in the club wearing a tight dress or short skirt. Unless someone tells you that they want to have sex with you, you do not get to make the assumption that they do. And let’s not forget that Rev Run has THREE DAUGHTERS and the oldest two don’t always dress modestly….

As Amber Rose said, it does not matter how far you take it. If one second you’re all for it, and then you change your mind, that means no. If you are hot and heavy and in the moment and then you decide to stop, that means no. If you are 2 seconds away from having sex and you suddenly realize that it’s not what you want, that means no. No means no whether you like it or not. And you do not have to physically say no in order to mean it.

For anyone who still needs a little clarification, I leave you with this video:


Moral of the Story: You don’t have the “right” to another human being. No will always be no

~Rae

Author: Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.

8 thoughts on “Rae’s Rules to Remember #10: Consent is Given, Not Taken”

  1. Very well said! I can’t stand it when people say well she was dressed like a whore, so she asked for it! So a man can walk around without a shirt & no one says anything, but the minute a woman decides to wear a pair of short shorts & a tank top, she’s a whore, & obviously wants you to take her! Yes, because that’s what I think when I get dressed everyday “Oh, I think I’ll wear this low cut top, in hopes that I’ll get raped!’ Yeah, it doesn’t work that way. News Flash people, you cannot ask to be raped, yes there are people who do role playing and are into pretending, to each their own, but that is still a decision between two CONSENTING adults. If you are confused, look up the definition of rape, one person is not consenting! It does not matter what he/she wears! I am a rape victim, my attacker raped me & I was wearing sweat pants & a hoodie, I’m curious what people who think that raping a woman is okay because she was dressed like a whore would say about that! Was I asking for it? NO! Please, PLEASE, can we stop blaming the victim, and let these sleazeballs take punishment for their actions!!! End of rant!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Right?!!! Men are shirtless running around the track and it’s fine. But if it’s 80 degrees and a woman in running in shorts and sports bra then oh my goodness she must be a whore. How dare she dress according to the weather! I am so so sorry. I can’t imagine how horrible that experience was but honestly it is my greatest fear. And the justice system is so screwed up that it protects rapists more than their victims. Someone pointed out that if rape were determined by clothes then it would occur twice as often in summer than winter but that’s not how it works!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

