“Sorry”

Just like the phrase ‘I love you’, I believe that the word sorry should only be spoken when the individual saying it is being genuine. I don’t think it’s fair or right to just throw it around and I think that doing so is a major problem in the world.

I once had a teacher who said that the word sorry means that you’ll never do something again. I disagree. I’m sorry that I go through anxiety and that I put my family through it, but that doesn’t mean that I will never struggle again or that there won’t be times when I’ll need their help. I wish I could say there won’t, but I know that there will probably be times in the future when, because of my anxiety, I make things difficult for others. I am sorry.

Unfortunately, because I can’t just stop being anxious, I think some people are under the impression that when I apologize, it’s in vain. They don’t seem to understand how much I wish that I could just turn my anxiety off.

There are people in this world, like myself, who only apologize when they mean it. There are people who don’t believe in just throwing the word around when it sounds good or when they’re trying to get out of trouble. To the people who only say they’re sorry when they truly mean it, thank you!

There are also people that don’t respect the word and use it as a way to try to escape their ignorance. How many times have you heard a celebrity, politician, or just your Average Joe say something horrible and then the next day, say they’re sorry? How many times have you heard someone make a totally racist comment and then claim that it was simply anger in the ‘heat of the moment’ that drove them to say something so awful? How many times have you gotten in an argument with someone and just so the argument ends, they’ve apologized but didn’t really mean it? How did that make you feel?

I hate when people say horrible things and then think that a simple apology makes it all better. Don’t get me wrong, if the apology is genuine then you should probably forgive the individual (depending on what was said or done, of course) – after all, everyone makes mistakes. What bothers me is when people apologize and don’t mean it – when they’re hearts aren’t really in it.

The word ‘sorry’ is sacred, please respect its meaning. Google defines ‘sorry’ as “feeling distress, especially through sympathy with someone else’s misfortune”. If you’re not truly upset about what you said or did (and no, being upset of the repercussions of your words or actions is not the same!), then please don’t apologize. Apologies should only be given when truly meant.

Author: gettingthroughanxiety

B.W. Ginsburg has enjoyed reading and writing for as long as she can remember. Her favorite authors include: Harlan Coben, James Patterson, and John Saul. B.W. Ginsburg published her first book, Rest in Piece, in October 2016. In addition to writing fiction, Ginsburg also writes about mental health. In her spare time, she can be found blogging, watching TV, and listening to music. B.W. Ginsburg graduated college with a B.A. in Arts; she majored in English and minored in writing.

15 thoughts on ““Sorry””

  1. I completely agree! I have used to term I’m sorry in ignorance, but it’s over the fact that I didn’t fully comprehend something that someone said, so I might say “I’m sorry, I didn’t catch that, could you please repeat it.” I’m sorry for making them repeat it, but I would never say something hateful, and then follow it up with an “I’m sorry.” That infuriates me to no end!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for including the definition of sorry! It’s really important to reflect on what the word actually means. That definition of sorry makes sense when you think of when people say ‘sorry for your loss’ or simply ‘I’m sorry’ in response to finding out someone’s relative/friend has passed away. People tend to respond, ‘Don’t be sorry, it’s not your fault’ but in line with the definition, it completely makes sense to say you’re sorry, and it shouldn’t have to imply any kind of fault on behalf of the person who feels sorry. Eek, hope that makes sense!! Great post, and a great subject to discuss and be open and honest about.

    Liked by 1 person

          1. That happens with me a lot. I haven’t written any of my writing projects for a long time. The way I get over writers block is to just go ahead and write anyway, write anything even if it’s bad and makes no sense. You can always return to it and it might inspire different ideas 😊

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Yes it has! Sometimes I do that, I just read my own writing for a bit, then once I’m done I have a better chance of having an idea of where to take it next.

            Like

Leave a Reply

