Being Kind

I’ve always been aware of this, but lately it’s become even more evident: for some people, it seems to be extra hard to be nice.

I was raised to be kind, to respect others. I was raised not to judge others based on the color of their skin or their sexual preferences. I was also just taught to spread kindness in general. However, I’m finding that sometimes, even the people that taught me to behave this way, don’t always follow their own advice.

Don’t get me wrong, I think we all have moments of unkindness. I know that there are times when I can be mean and well…bitchy. However, I try my hardest not to be and when I am mean on occasion, I make sure to apologize. Because I really am sorry. I don’t like being mean.

I’ve witnessed a lot of cruelty in my life. Don’t get me wrong, I love my relatives and none of them are abusive or anything like that, but some of them can really argue and say things that in my opinion, are horrible. The worst part is that sometimes they are cruel to each other – their own flesh and blood.

I just don’t understand why some people are so cruel. I have to say that I’m happy that I don’t understand this. There are so many kids in school being picked on, so many adults screaming at each other, and so many people being judgmental. I guess sometimes it just makes me really sad.

Please be kind to others. I know that for some people it’s easier said than done, but being kind is very important. Not only does spreading love make others feel safe and bring smiles to their face, but it also makes you happier. Who wants to carry around hatred and anger? I know I don’t want to.

 

Author: gettingthroughanxiety

B.W. Ginsburg has enjoyed reading and writing for as long as she can remember. Her favorite authors include: Harlan Coben, James Patterson, and John Saul. B.W. Ginsburg published her first book, Rest in Piece, in October 2016. In addition to writing fiction, Ginsburg also writes about mental health. In her spare time, she can be found blogging, watching TV, and listening to music. B.W. Ginsburg graduated college with a B.A. in Arts; she majored in English and minored in writing.

4 thoughts on “Being Kind”

  1. It makes total sense to me what you’re saying. I don’t understand people who are cruel either. They just spread their negative feelings onto other people. It’s awful. đŸ˜¥

    Like

Leave a Reply

