The ‘Bullying’ Issue – The Way I See It

The word ‘bullying’ is a word that I’ve come to find extremely annoying. I never used to find it bothersome, but lately it seems like everyone is using it. Don’t get me wrong, I understand that bullying is an issue, it always has been. However, it seems like it’s become a subject that’s getting much more attention as of late.

I think that the fact that so many people (whether it’s kids or adults) are being teased, made fun of, and treated like crap – is horrible. I think that it is the fault of the bullies that so many people are finding themselves struck down my negative, cruel words. I think that the number one way to stop bullying is for each and every one of us to become kinder individuals and to teach our children to do the same.

First let me say, that I’m not a mother. I know nothing about parenting or the difficulties of doing such. I know that you can teach your kid all there is to know about respect, and they can still not listen to a word you say. I also know that you can teach your son and/or daughter to not listen to the hurtful words of others, but they will and that when they do, the words may still hurt. Hell, it may even crush them.

Still, just as my parents taught me, I think all parents need to teach their kids about bullies and how most of the time, the cruel words spoken by others, reflect the fact that these individuals are unhappy with their own lives. I think that parents need to teach their children how to be kind to others and how to ignore the mean comments that both kids and adults tend to pass along.

I completely understand how ignoring being bullied can be difficult. However, I think we’re all teased in school at one point or another and while this is a sad truth, we need to learn to develop a sort of tough skin. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t be sensitive – no, that’s far from what I’m saying. Rather, I’m saying that we have to learn not to take everything so seriously. I think that we have to remind our children that they are amazing, no matter what other people might say.

Throughout my years in school, I was made fun of a few times. I was made fun of because I was skinny, unpopular, and sometimes – for reasons I wasn’t even completely sure of. However, I knew deep down that most of the time, the people who were making fun of me were just being jerks. Don’t get me wrong, their comments hurt and sometimes I would question myself, but I knew these individuals were just being cruel. I knew that I was loved and that a lot of people found the beauty in me.

I think parents, teachers, and friends need to remind their loved ones how wonderful they are and how they shouldn’t listen to those who are cruel. Yes, we all need to be able to take some amount of criticism, but let’s face it, some people are just assholes. I think parents need to remind their children that the best way to fight the cruel words said by ‘bullies’, is to ignore them.

Hearing about so many individuals taking their lives because of bullying or being so sensitive to the subject, makes me wonder if parents are doing their jobs. Are they talking to their kids about the fact that often times, mean individuals are just taking their anger out on innocent people. Are parents reminding their children that just because mean words are spoken, doesn’t mean that they are true? Are parents, teachers, and friends reminding their kids, students, and friends just how wonderful they are? Remember, strong children become strong adults.

Author: gettingthroughanxiety

B.W. Ginsburg has enjoyed reading and writing for as long as she can remember. Her favorite authors include: Harlan Coben, James Patterson, and John Saul. B.W. Ginsburg published her first book, Rest in Piece, in October 2016. In addition to writing fiction, Ginsburg also writes about mental health. In her spare time, she can be found blogging, watching TV, and listening to music. B.W. Ginsburg graduated college with a B.A. in Arts; she majored in English and minored in writing.

12 thoughts on “The ‘Bullying’ Issue – The Way I See It”

  1. I was bullied as a child. Not as bad as it seems to be nowadays – what with people making pages ENCOURAGING their bullying targets to kill themselves, calling them “sluts,” or some such stuff – but I was the target of 2 particularly cruel people as a kid/teenager. One of them, who was probably aware of my situation, targeted me (& my friends; I wasn’t unique in his focus) at potentially the worst time of my life. He called me “fat” every day, picked on my clothing choices, told me that my parents ought to dress me better…

    …about the time when my Mom died of cancer.

    He made my life a living h*** until about the time he moved away, if I remember correctly. A friend, who was also bullied by him, & I recently started talking again after such a long time of not being in contact (she moved away also) & she mentioned she had seen him, on his request, & that he apologized to her. Apparently, he wanted to apologize to me too.

    I told her to pass along the message that he could shove his apology & that he shouldn’t let my name pass his lips again.

    So yeah, I’m still bitter. Bullies, I’ve seen, often act out because they think it will make them popular. It will make other people laugh at their “witty” comments & at the victim. It serves to isolate the victim. It gives the bully a vent for their negative feelings – similar to abusers passing their pain onto their victims. Many kids feel there isn’t anyone with whom they can talk about the problem. They are often told that it’s just “kids being kids,” or that they’re “overreacting.” That further isolates them.

    Luckily, I was already in therapy for my situation & I did have someone to talk to about the issue. But, for kids who feel all alone… I feel for them. I really do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you and I do think it’s horrible when people are bullied. I hope it didn’t come across otherwise. That’s why I think it’s important that parents educate their children on the reason kids can be so mean and that you should try not to take the comments to heart.

      I’m sorry you had to go through that, no one deserves to be treated so poorly. I’m happy you found support though.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, no!! It didn’t come across that way at all. You shared your story… I felt like sharing mine & why I thought, sometimes, kids don’t confide in their parents. But parents could probably speak to their kids about bullying before they’re ever the targets of it & encourage their kids to confide in them.

        But, then again, I’m not a parent either.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I was taunted and teased throughout elementary school and middle school, a little bit in high school too. I was called the teacher’s pet, annoying, talkative, a chatterbox, braceface (I had braces twice), four eyes (I got my glasses in sixth grade and begged my parents to let me have contact lenses, they relented in 9th grade).

    I was called a “traitor” from both kids and adults at my church for leaving my home high school and going to the International Baccalaureate program, an academic magnet program that had just stared at another high school in my city. I know now that they were probably jealous, and that our football team was better than theirs, but it still makes me bitter. My now-husband defended me a few times against one of those kids just a few years ago. He threw the words right back to Chris, and he carefully considered what he said to me in Al’s presence from then on.

    I worry immensely about my future niece, Mia. My brother-in-law is marrying Mia’s mom next year. She’s almost 11, and she loves science fiction and lots of geeky stuff (Doctor Who, etc.). She clearly stands out from the other kids her age. She doesn’t have a lot of friends in school, and that’s tough for kids. She’s been teased before, and it makes my heart hurt that she’s teased/put down for liking different things than the other kids. She’s more mature for her age, which is what I dealt with too.

    Social media and the Internet has made things worse, I think. There was a local child that died by suicide last week. Police found their body on a park bench in a neighborhood down the street from my church at 6:45 in the morning. It’s incredibly tragic.

    Thank you for your thoughts on bullying! I plan to do a post of my own soon.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for sharing your story. I’m so sorry that you experienced so much teasing in life. I think it’s horrible that people are bullied, but unfortunately I think it’s something that children (and sadly, adults too) have to be prepared for. I think parents need to teach their children that while the comments might hurt, they need to try to rise above them. I look forward to reading your post!

      Like

    2. I think you have an opportunity to help your niece-to-be. You’ve been through the situation into which she’s (potentially) entering & you can help guide her, be there for her to talk to, & to help her stay true to her own self through her school years. I agree that it’s important for adults to be there for the next generation, one that will very likely face bullying to a severity we never even though possible, but there’s no rule saying that it has to be a parent or blood relative.

      Perhaps, as an “outside adult,” you might be able to connect to her on a friend level that her parents might not be able to connect.

      Just a suggestion!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

