Rae’s Rules to Remember #55: Trans Inclusion

I feel like I shouldn’t have to write this post.

I’m confused as to why people who claim to be feminists aren’t supporting transgender men and women. I mean, I thought that it was pretty clear that gender equality wasn’t limited to cisgender people only. That’s means not only including people who identify as trans but also gender fluid, gender nonconforming etc.

Seriously, where is the confusion?

Trans people are people and they deserve to be treated as such. They should be able to use their respective bathrooms without fear. They should have affordable access to health care. They should be accepted for who they are before, during, and after their transition.

visibility infographic update 2015

I don’t know about you but I am tired of watching the news and hearing that a trans person was murdered or that a trans teen committed suicide. From what I’ve seen, trans women of color are targeted most (this is why intersectionality is important).

During my senior year of college I had the honor of meeting Geena Rocero.

geena

She’s a transgender model from the Philippines and trans advocate. She spoke to us about the importance of inclusion and visibility and how her experiences have been shaped by the fact that she is a trans woman of color and the differences that she’s experienced in America and in the Philippines. If you want to know more about her story then you can check out her TedTalk here.

What I’m basically saying is that while everyone is entitled to think and feel however they want, you can’t be a feminist and exclude the trans community. If it’s not intersectional, it’s not feminism. So remember to support your sisters, not just your cis-ters.


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter


Similar posts:

Sources:

Author: Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.

4 thoughts on “Rae’s Rules to Remember #55: Trans Inclusion”

  1. TERFs piss me right the f*** off. Part of me wants to cut them some slack, to say that they fear the unknown & misunderstood as much as the average person. But it’s a tiny minority of myself – most of me thinks they’re just privileged jerks trying to maintain themselves above someone else.

    I had a friend from H.S. who transitioned (into the most gorgeous, successful model) after we graduated. She was murdered on 9/13/10. The whole trial (which resulted in acquittals for both men) & media coverage were disrespectful shams.

    Still… having had people arrested in her case was better than most transwomen of color get from the system.

    Sorry ’bout that… TERFs & the incredibly high rates of abuse, rape, disrespect from police & the courts, & murder of transwomen of color gets me all rant-y. 😥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. omg I’m so sorry about your friend. That’s terrible. Trans or nor, she was murdered. WTF
      They piss me off two and it’s pretty ridiculous and stupid. Just because you don’t understand someone else’s situation doesn’t give you the right to treat them like shot. You’re never going to be able to relate with someone on every level so accept the differences and get the fuck over yourself

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What makes me really sad about the whole situation (in addition, clearly, to her being murdered) is that she had only been her genuine physical self for such a short time. She must have struggled the whole time we were in school, &, when she finally gets through the ridiculously difficult transition process, someone kills her because of who she is.

        I think of her every time another transwoman of color gets murdered. Every time the idiots reporting the crimes uses the wrong pronouns or the woman’s old name. It makes me want to rant & rage every time… which is why I’m still doing it now. Still sorry ’bout that.

        TERFs, from what I’ve seen, are often “white feminists.” It feels funny saying that, because I’m a white feminist, but I’m not a “white feminist” (you know what I mean?). Regardless, TERFs are only worried about their own experience – they’re not real feminists.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

