It’s Not Weak To Share Your Feelings

I feel like there’s this huge misconception that showing your feelings means that you’re weak. I feel like people think that holding everything in makes you strong. I’m sorry, but I have to say that I disagree. I’m not saying that if you’re someone who keeps your emotions and thoughts inside, that you’re not strong, but rather I’m saying that there’s nothing wrong with sharing how you feel.

I’ve heard it before, and I’m sure you have too. People call other people strong and say things like, “Wow, I didn’t even know that you had [insert mental or physical health issue here]”. The way these people say this is as if a person hiding their issues makes someone strong. Now don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of people who are strong who don’t share their feelings or emotions. However, I feel that we need to make sure that we also note that people who do share their feelings and struggles are also very strong.

Maybe I’m wrong, but it almost seems like people tend to give more credit to those who hold in their feelings than to those who don’t. I think that’s wrong and also, very sad. I think people need to know that it’s okay to share their issues and feelings and that by doing so, not only are they helping themselves, but they’re helping others who struggle as well. By sharing what we go through, we inform others who struggle that they’re not alone.

Perhaps I’m a little bias. I’ve always been the type of person who talks about my issues (to those I trust anyway). Sometimes I feel like the world wants this and appreciates this trait and other times, not so much. There are tons of people out there who sadly, don’t want to hear it. However, we need to realize that sharing our feelings is important and as I said, beneficial to ourselves and others. So don’t hold in how you feel! Share your feelings and struggles with those who you trust!

Author: gettingthroughanxiety

B.W. Ginsburg has enjoyed reading and writing for as long as she can remember. Her favorite authors include: Harlan Coben, James Patterson, and John Saul. B.W. Ginsburg published her first book, Rest in Piece, in October 2016. In addition to writing fiction, Ginsburg also writes about mental health. In her spare time, she can be found blogging, watching TV, and listening to music. B.W. Ginsburg graduated college with a B.A. in Arts; she majored in English and minored in writing.

4 thoughts on “It’s Not Weak To Share Your Feelings”

Leave a Reply

