Ableism, Choice and Society Bull****

myzania

I don’t know if any of you watched the most recent (3/10/16) episode of Australian Story. It was a doozy. The story was about two young adults, Michael and Taylor, who are in love and want to get married, move in together and have children.

Link to the episode on the Australian Story website.

Here’s the kicker, though. They happen to have Down Syndrome, which seems to make things a little complicated. And, unfortunately, ableist.

Reminder: ableist/ableism = prejudice/discrimination against people with disabilities (PWD). Often involves thinking for or about PWD instead of with them – i.e. reducing a disabled person’s agency/ability to act for their own selves in a situation by taking away their choice/s.

I’m sorry to say that this is what was happening in the program. I have no doubt that the parents of Michael and Taylor mean well. They’ve obviously done a good job of raising…

View original post 1,148 more words

Author: carlalouise89

My name is Carla Robinson and I’m 26 years old. I love fashion, cooking, travelling and animals. I’m an English & History teacher, and have taught at three different schools in the past five years. If you’re interested in following me more closely, please check out my Instagram page: https://instagram.com/carlalouise01/ Or my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/melodramaticconfessionsofcarlalouise/

Leave a Reply

