Be The Professor Who Helps

I was talking to a good friend of mine this morning when the subject of how universities and schools in general deal with students with mental health issues. While I had many complaints about how my college handled the situation of me struggling with anxiety, I also found that I had many compliments as well. One very important compliment in particular was how some professors try their hardest to be really kind and understanding when it comes to those who struggle.

As Rae from Bookmark Chronicles mentioned yesterday, attending college is hard enough without having to deal with mental health issues such as anxiety and depression. When I attended college, things weren’t easy for me. Often times I found myself skipping classes, leaving early, or having to change my schedule around simply because the arrangement of the classroom made things harder for me due to my anxiety.

While some professors weren’t very understanding, I had many who were. One professor in particular said how proud he was that although difficult for me, I tried to come to class every day and get through it. He admired and understood how hard I was trying. I’m very grateful for that and I’m grateful for all the teachers and professors out there who make it clear that they’re there for their students. I had a lot of professors who made me feel better about my situation and I even had some who shared my issues with anxiety and helped me realize that I wasn’t alone.

I ask that if you’re a teacher or professor and you see that a student is struggling with a mental health issue, that you try your hardest to understand what they’re going through. I ask that you encourage them not to give up. Remind them that they are strong and that you are proud of them for trying to accomplish their goals. If you see a student struggling, don’t walk away from them! Ask them how you can help make things easier. Be the type of person and professor who helps their students achieve their goals and fight through their obstacles instead of the type that makes a student feel the need to walk away from their education.

Author: gettingthroughanxiety

B.W. Ginsburg has enjoyed reading and writing for as long as she can remember. Her favorite authors include: Harlan Coben, James Patterson, and John Saul. B.W. Ginsburg published her first book, Rest in Piece, in October 2016. In addition to writing fiction, Ginsburg also writes about mental health. In her spare time, she can be found blogging, watching TV, and listening to music. B.W. Ginsburg graduated college with a B.A. in Arts; she majored in English and minored in writing.

2 thoughts on “Be The Professor Who Helps”

Leave a Reply

