The truth about rape culture

“Whoever it is, if you don’t give consent, it’s rape. And no matter what, it’s never the victim’s fault.”

Rose Browning

‘Look at that dress; you’re asking for it’

‘Don’t blame him, you tempted him’

‘He’s your boyfriend, he doesn’t need your consent’

‘You were probably giving him the wrong signals’

‘Don’t act the victim when you were out dressed like that’

‘It doesn’t matter…it’s only sex’

‘It wasn’t sex. It was rape. He was my boyfriend and I trusted him with all my heart. He came home after work and began undressing me. I told him to stop, I didn’t want to, I wasn’t in the mood. But he didn’t. Tears started rolling down my face. He didn’t stop. I yelled at him. His response: ‘You’re mine and I don’t need your permission’. He carried on until he was done. I lay awake that night, shaking, sick to my stomach and not knowing who to turn to. Who would understand? Who would believe that my own partner raped me without blaming me first…’

Thankfully…

View original post 569 more words

Author: Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.

1 thought on “The truth about rape culture”

Leave a Reply

