“They can’t be depressed they smile, laugh and seem to have life all planned out”

#FighttheStigma

Embracing Authenticity

“They can’t be depressed they smile, laugh and seem to have life all planned out” – Or so it may seem
Depression, it’s the source of much contradiction and a topic I have shyly avoided revealing. So here I go…

I HAVE DEPRESSION

“But how can you be depressed?” they’d ask. I imagine the words stabbing me in the chest. I suppose the question is valid – I seem to have confidence, I smile and am surrounded by so many people who love and care about me.

What more could anyone want?

It’s like you can’t possibly be sad, unless your life is basically falling apart at your fingertips. But strangely enough that’s not how depression works.

See, I felt ashamed of the way I felt with even just the word ‘depression’ giving me an uncomfortable feeling. It was like I had a life out there ready to enjoy but…

View original post 203 more words

Author: Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.

1 thought on ““They can’t be depressed they smile, laugh and seem to have life all planned out””

Leave a Reply

