Stop Slut Shaming

*I apologize in advance that language here is very binary, but keep reading and you’ll see why*


According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary (and almost every other dictionary) the definition of a slut is “a promiscuous woman.”

Ironically there’s no set word for a promiscuous man. Instead it’s believed that sleeping with multiple people is okay if a man does it because “men have needs” and “boys will be boys.”

Even from a young age, girls are given lectures about “keeping their legs closed” when they hit puberty, while boys are given condoms. Boys are expected to lose their virginity during their teenage years while girls are told that we should save ourselves for marriage. Nothing wrong with that of course, but it should be your choice to do so and not someone else’s.

Even still, it actually doesn’t matter what we do because we will be judged and called names no matter what. If we have sex we’re sluts but if we don’t we’re prudes. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter if a woman decides to never have sex or have it every single day with a different person. You don’t get to judge her, call her names, or tell her what she can and cannot do. Especially if you praise men for doing the same damn thing.

This word is so ingrained in our vocabulary that girls call other girls sluts for pretty much any reason possible. She lost her virginity? What a slut.She’s dating a new guy? Such a slut. She wore that short dress to homecoming? She’s so slutty. Congratulations to the patriarchy for embedding internalized sexism into the brains of young girls everywhere and shame on you for not taking a stance against it.

The first time that I was called a slut was in the second grade. No, I was not having sex in the second grade or doing any other sexual activity but that doesn’t matter. One of the other girls called me a slut because I was friends with a guy that she had a crush on. The kid was friendly, nice to everyone. She could’ve been friends with him too but she was too scared to talk to him.But I’m a slut right? Somehow that was my fault.

Women can like sex too. Women should be proud of their bodies. Women are allowed to own their sexuality. Mind your own business and let them do what they want.

Stop slut shaming.


Like Bookmark Chronicles on Facebook and follow on Twitter

Author: Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.

12 thoughts on “Stop Slut Shaming”

  1. I agree with this sooooo much! I remember I kissed a boy at a school social and somehow my stepdad found out (I think my sister dobbed me in) and I was grounded for 2 months because people would call me a slut….because I kissed a boy. But if I know that if I was a boy my stepdad would have been high fiving me. Great post 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great piece! I agree with you. As you know … Trump is awful. In many people’s haste to attack him on a personal level, Melania has been triangulated into the equation. Years ago, she posed nude at a photoshoot, and folks love to circulate the pics. People are always slut shaming the First Lady – but it is possible to condemn right wing policies without being misogynistic. We can’t condemn Trump’s misogyny while being misogynistic towards his wife!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Great article, Rae! I totally agree that no matter what, it doesn’t seem like women can win. We’re either called sluts or prudes and it’s not fair. It’s also not fair in my opinion that men get all over other men if they don’t have sex by a certain age. It’s up to each and every one of us to have sex at when it feels right to us, as long as we’re not harming anyone in the process.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

